top of page
  • Writer's pictureKarigan Hale

My 10 Favorite Literature Classics

Public school English teacher here! Give these books another try - you might like them better as an adult (and when you are forced to do analysis by annoying teachers like me).

As a public school English teacher for almost 2 decades (has it really been that long??), I have a deep love of the classics. From old, dead, white guys to rebellious women ahead of their time, these books are timeless for a reason.


When I tell people I teach English, there seems to be very polarized reactions - either they loved it or hated it. Shakespeare gives them hives, or they know every line. The thought of reading Poe or Hardy sends them running, or they have a favorite story.


I'm not going to lie. When I was in school, I didn't love everything we read in English class. I didn't "get" the point of The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne. I wasn't enamored by Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain. And I certainly didn't get all giddy for the plethora of worksheets and analysis we were expected to do for each book. (Anyone else make a toothpick version of the Globe Theater? No, just me?)


However, when I picked these books up again in college and then sometimes a third time as an adult - to read them for pleasure and the joy of the language - I found I really liked them. (except for Huck Finn... still don't like that one) They are timeless. They are beautifully written. They are worth the wrath of my Seniors when I expose them to these books as well.

So, here are a list of my 10 favorite classics - and trust me, limiting it to 10 was harder than Andrew Forrester's abs. If you haven't read them since high school, I encourage you give them another try. You might find that if you don't have a venn diagram to complete or an essay to write, you will find a bit of truth and beauty in them.



Most people know Hardy because Anastasia Steele mentions him (and his more famous book Tess of the D'Ubervilles in the infamous 50 Shades of Grey books by E.L. James. However, Far From the Madding Crowd is my emergency car book (everyone has one of those, right?). I can open the book to any well-worn page and get swept easily into the story. The main character, Bathseba Everdeen, is a woman ahead of her time. Even in the late 1800s, she's decided she doesn't need a man to succeed in life. Of course, then, she attracts the attention of three very different men as she tries to navigate life as the owner/operator of her very own farm. Who will she chose?

This story was also made into a move in 2015 starring Carey Mulligan and Matthias Schoenaerts. I LOVE this movie just as much. The tension between the Love Quadrangle is tangible. Swoon!!


2. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

Jazz, liquor, parties, love affairs, secrets, and murder - what else could you ask for in a story? Set against the backdrop of the early 1920s, Fitzergald uses an outside narrator, Nick Carroway, to tell the love story of the titular and mysterious Jay Gatsby and rich Daisy Buchanan. I LOVE Fitzgerald's poetic writing style and his ability to make me feel for the bad guys. Even my students love this book!


This was also made into several movies. My favorite is the recent Baz Luhrman flick starring Leonardo DiCaprio and Carey Mulligan. So good!


Would any list of classics be complete without a book by the amazing Jane Austen? I could recommend ALL of her stories actually, but this one is my favorite. A classic enemies to lovers romance with a strong female lead. Elizabeth Bennett - the second of 5 sisters - is headstrong and independent. And she doesn't like when righteous rich boys look down on her family. But what if one rich boy isn't all he seems? Can Darcy and Elizabeth put their pride aside to find true love?


Movie versions - The original BBC version with Colin Firth is wonderful and stays true to the story. It was originally an episodic series, so it is long, but definitely worth it. I also enjoyed the 2005 version, although that seems to be an unpopular opinion. Matthew Macfadyen is a great Mr. Darcy. And although the film takes some liberties with the original text, the tension between Elizabeth and Darcy is palpable. That rain scene - yes!


I. Love. This. Story. We named our cat Scout. Atticus is a man to look up to. If you haven't picked this up since high school, I encourage you to do so. Talk about a timeless story. And if you don't know about the reclusive author, give her a bio a look-see as well. Fascinating. This was the only book she published in her lifetime. Her only other book Go Set a Watchmen was posthumously published after her death. It is the sequel to TKAM and shows Scout as an adult.


The only film version is from 1962 and stars the incomparable Gregory Peck as Atticus. Even my 21st century students love this black and film.


5. Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck

The reluctant readers in my classes really like this story of two migrant workers trying to support each other during the Great Depression. George has sworn to take care of his simple-minded but brutally strong friend Lennie. And although the book is a tragedy (get your tissues out!), it is a story of friendship, tough decisions, and the hardships of the 1930s.


My students and I recommend the 1992 movie version with Gary Sinise and John Malkovich. So good.


6. Macbeth by Shakespeare

Oh Shakespeare, how do I love thee? Let me count the ways. I love all Shakespeare's plays, but Macbeth and Romeo and Juliet top my list for sure. Yes, they are both tragedies, I know. Macbeth especially has something for everyone - murder, conspiracy, war, strong women pulling up their husbands' big boy panties, morality, power struggles, witches! - it's great! Although Shakespeare was meant to be watched - it is a play - reading through it first might help you understand what is happening in the play.


I enjoy the Roman Polanski 1970s version of the movie. Yes, it's a little dated, but it sticks to the story really closely. Other favorites the modern retelling with Patrick Stewart and the newest Michael Fassbender version.


One of the oldest books in history, The Odyssey is the tale of the brave King Odysseus. He fought valiantly in the Trojan War - in fact, it was he who came up with the idea for the Trojan Horse which eventually helped the Greeks win - and is now on his way home. Unfortunately, he pisses off some gods on Mount Olympus and it takes him 20 years to get home. The story includes lots of fun characters from Greek Mythology including The Cyclops, Calypso, Hermes, Poseidon, Athena, Circe, and more. If you can stomach a 300 page epic poem, this one is the one to pick.


There have been many adaptations of this story over the years. My favorite is the Hallmark 1997 version with Armand Assante in the title role. Just be ready to cringe a little over the computer graphics. Man have we come a long way!


This gothic masterpiece is a love story with a twist - and a secret, crazy wife hidden in the attic. Jane pulls at our heartstrings the entire book. Girl just can't seem to catch a break!? But, like Cinderella, her good nature and kind heart help her win (ish) in the end. Another masterpiece by a Bronte sister. Check out her other books and those by her sisters as well. A whole family of educated women ahead of their time.


I don't have a favorite movie version, but there have been MANY throughout the years.


I love true crime. If I'm not writing (and sometimes when I'm supposed to be), you'll definitely find a true crime documentary on the television or on my podcasts. Dateline, Forensic Files, My Favorite Murder - they are all my jam. But what kind of True Crime Aficionado would I be if I hadn't read In Cold Blood by Truman Capote? Fun fact, he was childhood best friends with Harper Lee. In fact, Dill, from To Kill a Mockingbird is reportedly inspired by Capote. Forensics weren't what they are today, so be ready to shake your head at the detective work in this book, but it was true to the time period.


No movie of this book, but you can find tons of information about the crime if you do a little searching.


Okay, I might be stretching the definition of "classic" with this choice, but I really love Atwood's writing style. She weaves words in her prose like poetry. The world-building here is both wonderful and terrifying - especially in the current climate with the #metoo movement. If you like Dystopian reality books, this is one you can't miss. She recently released a long-awaited second book in the series as well: The Testaments. I actually could recommend any of her books, and I'm not even really a sci-fi fan! Nolite Te Bastardes Carborundorum!


The recent television series staring Elisabeth Moss is really good. The first season follows the Atwood's story almost exactly and the cinematography is breath-taking.


Okay, this is actually a short story which is why I didn't want to take up a space in the official Top 10. But Edgar Allan Poe was the master of gothic suspense. He is also considered the father of the detective series. Any of his short stories are great, but "Cask of Amontillado" is easy to follow and the surprise ending is to die for (see what I did there?). Another favorite is "Murders on the Rue Morgue" widely acclaimed as the first detective story. He's also a home-town hero - What up, Baltimore?.


So, that's my list. Did I miss any of your favorites? Have you had a similar experience of enjoying them more as adults? Let me know in the comments! I love talking about literature!

11 views0 comments
bottom of page